top of page
  • Writer's pictureJan Weihl

Trumpet Judgments (Revelation 8)

Revelation 8 starts out with the Lamb breaking the seventh seal, then a period of silence in heaven followed by the first 4 of 7 Trumpet Judgments. But I find it interesting that there is a pause, a period of silence, before the second set of judgments is unleashed.

We can only speculate because Scripture does not give us the answer as to why there is this period of silence between the Seal and Trumpet judgments. So we won't attempt to give an answer.

But notice in Revelation 7 there is a tremendous multitude in heaven worshiping God the Father and Jesus, God the Son, the Lamb. But from Revelation 8 on we don't see people worshiping God again until the end of the Tribulation.

Revelation 8:1 When the Lamb broke the 7th seal, there was silence in heaven for about half an hour.

Can you imagine heaven without the worship of God for even a half hour?

Notice also as Jesus opens the 7th seal, the seven angels with the 7 trumpets appear (Revelation 8:1-2). That tells us the 3 sets of judgments (Seals, Trumpets, and Bowls) do not happen simultaneously, but sequentially, over a 7-year period of time.

Then we come to "prayer" and look what it says:

Revelation 8:4 And the smoke of the incense, with the prayers of the saints, went up before God out of the angel's hand.

Do you realize that prayers of the followers of Jesus are treated as offerings before God?

As I pray, I need to make sure I have that mindset. Are my prayers like an incense offering which God delights in?

Dear Lord, May the prayers of my heart be what You delight in. Lord, I pray for salvation for those who don't know you. I pray for those who are clinging on to sin to have the courage to let go and turn to You so that they may be cleansed and restored. Lord, I pray that I represent You well and shine Your light to everyone around me as You direct me. In Jesus' name I pray, amen.

Jan Weihl

Living Word Ministries

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page