top of page
  • Writer's pictureJan Weihl

Seal Judgments (Revelation 6)

The 7-year Tribulation consists of 3 sets of judgments (7 seal judgments, 7 trumpet judgments, and 7 bowl judgments.) Revelation 6 describes the first 6 of 7 seal judgments. Many say these happened in the past. But clearly they are still future.

Revelation 6 starts with Jesus (the Lamb) breaking the first "seal" which sets off the first of seven seal judgments. This first seal judgment is the revealing of the Antichrist.

Daniel 9:27 tells us that the Antichrist is revealed when he makes a forced covenant with Israel for 7-years which allows them to resume sacrifice and grain offerings.

Daniel 9:27 And he will make a firm covenant with the many (the Jews) for one week (7 years), but in the middle of the week he will put a stop to sacrifice and grain offerings.

People look at the "7-year covenant" and think of the various ones of the past, including the most recent Abraham accords. But what they miss is never since the 2nd temple was destroyed on the temple mount in 70 A.D. have the Jews been allowed to resume sacrifice and grain offerings.

None of the current or previous "7-year covenants" allowed the "status quo of the temple mount" to be disturbed. So the seal judgments are still future to our time today.

There is also no Antichrist who has been revealed. And we are still in the church age. So clearly this 7-year period of God's judgment, described in Daniel 9:24, has not begun yet.

Revelation 6 goes on to describe the 2nd - 6th seal judgments as follows:

  • 2nd Seal (Revelation 6:3-4) - peace is taken from the earth. So the temporary peace that comes with the Antichrist's agreement is taken with the 2nd seal and war breaks out.

  • 3rd Seal (Revelation 6:5-6) - famine. Naturally after war has ravaged a land, famine will be the result.

  • 4th Seal (Revelation 6:7-8) - Death of unbelievers over a quarter of the earth. If the population at that time is 8 billion, this would mean 2 billion people would die. This is tremendously more than we have ever seen killed in any war to date and this is just the first set of judgments.

  • 5th Seal (Revelation 6:9-11) - Martyrs (believers who were slain because they would not deny Jesus.) They are given white robes which means they have stood before the judgment seat of Christ, a judgment of rewards. They didn't go to Hades but to heaven to be with Jesus for all eternity.

  • 6th Seal (Revelation 6:12-17) - A Great Earthquake, sun becomes black, the moon becomes red, stars fall, sky splits, and every mountain and island is moved out of place. Clearly this has never happened.

But perhaps the most important passage of Revelation 6 is verses 16-17:

Revelation 6:16-17 and they said to the mountains and the rocks, "Fall on us and hide us from the presence of Him who sits on the throne, and from the wrath of the Lamb; [17] for the great day of their wrath has come, and who is able to stand?"

There are two things we need to know about the "wrath of the Lamb."

1) Followers of Jesus (those who have repented of their sin and trusted in Jesus as their Lord) cannot go through the "wrath of the Lamb." Jesus took the wrath we deserve upon Himself on the cross and gave us His righteousness. We are cleansed from the wrath of God and of the Lamb.

Romans 8:1 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

1 Thessalonians 5:9 For God has not appointed us to suffer wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ.

2) The purpose of this 7-year Tribulation period is to give those who have refused to repent another chance to turn from their sin and submit to Jesus as their Lord. God does not want any to perish. But He gives everyone a choice to choose their eternal destiny. What will you choose?

Daniel 9:24 Seventy weeks have been decreed for your people and your holy city to finish the transgression, to make an end of sin, to make atonement for iniquity, to bring in everlasting righteousness.

2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.

Dear Lord, Thank you for your amazing grace and boundless love. Even in the very end when You unleash your wrath, You do so with the hope that many will choose to repent and submit to You as their Lord. Lord, I pray daily for those who are holding on to their sin, refusing to acknowledge that it is sin that separates them from You. Lord, I pray that they would let go and accept Your free gift of salvation so that they can be sealed with Your Holy Spirit of promise, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until the redemption of the purchased possession, to the praise of Your glory. In Jesus' name I pray, amen.

Jan Weihl

Living Word Ministries

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page